Doing Some Things Differently

About a week ago, I decided to give up shampooing my hair. Yup, call me crazy. I’ve had some issues with my hair breaking easily, falling out, laying flat even after it’s been curled and sprayed to rock hard formation, and feeling stringy. My initial resolution was to just cut it all off but pixie cuts are not my forte. Instead, I’ve opted to do the “no-poo” method in hopes of restoring my hair to its original glory. I started this method last Sunday.

The first couple of days my hair was fine, I washed it with 1 tablespoon of baking soda mixed with one cup of water. I followed it with a mixture of distiller white vinegar and water in a spray bottle. None of the stuff creates a lather so if you try it, don’t expect bubbles. My hair did have slight vinegar scent which dissipated after a couple of hours. I’ve heard that you can add essential oil or lemon juice to the vinegar mix to prevent smelling like you’ve just been pickled.

Today my hair is a bit oily, as in sticky-oily. It doesn’t look that way but it feels that way. I’m sure it will go away. I have noticed that my hair holds a curl much better and I’m not seeing as much silver as before. Is that a bad thing? Nope! I cannot wait for my hair to return to a state of normalcy.

My mom has been posting recipes and instructions on how to make your own soaps. After some discussion with my husband, we have decided to
give it a try. Hopefully, we can start doing that stuff for ourselves and save some money on bath stuff. I already know how to make bath salts and sugar scrubs. I’m not giving up deodorant though! Making my own soaps should be fun. I can buy everything I need at Michaels or Walmart, right? Christmas presents! YES!

I’m starting to figure out and plan for Christmas. Budget will be tight since we have opted to pay our debts in a different manner. I can’t complain; paying our bills they way that we have these last few months has been stress-free and we are slowly freeing ourselves from the burden that debt creates. Soon we will no longer be slaves to creditors! What a relief it will be to have our money be “our” money! Then on to buying a house!

Break time is over, more later!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I'll take your 2 cents!

