WOW! Does the craziness ever stop?

I have not posted because it’s been a very busy few weeks.

Sad news is, fundraising isn’t going as well for me as I have seen it for other people.  I’ve been called “selfish” for asking people for money, others have insisted since we’re doing fundraising that we pay them despite previous agreements, and I’ve also been told to “wait and save up”.  I think I need to address each issue.

1.  Asking for help in paying for something this huge is not “selfish”.  I’m not asking anyone to give up their life savings or to not feed their family for a week.  I’m asking people to think about the time I bought Girl Scout cookies, donated to some sports activity, contributed to their fundraiser, and things like that.  I know for a fact that I’ve given so much to others over the years and because I don’t have children (yet), I’ve not had to ask for donations for this activity or for them to buy something for Boy/Girl Scouts.  I’ve been pretty selfless over the last 20 years helping other parents with their children.  So, have you thought about that and how $5 can help us?  I know someone who is raising $600 so their son can play football. A mass email was sent out about it and someone commented about how if everyone sent a couple of bucks, they would have the football money in no time.  Nobody has ever sent out an email like that to help us raise funds for IVF.  Makes L and I feel less important in achieving our dreams.

2.  This is time belongs to L and I.  It’s not a time for others to ask us for money.  Granted, we do owe some people and we haven’t forgotten it.  Unfortunately, paying off a couple of people have now put us in a bind.  Our savings has been depleted and we cannot continue with the IVF.  Unless we can get an additional $2000 saved up.  That puts our fund raising at $9000 instead of the original $7000 we are trying to raise.  We were about 1% of the way to our $7000 goal.  This is depressing.

3.  I talked with my Grandpa about the “wait and save up” for IVF comment.  He said, “HELL NO!  You don’t have time to wait.  You’ve been ‘waiting’ too long as it is.  Hell, Grandma and I have been waiting too.  We want to see you and L have a child before we die.”  I almost cried on the phone.  Age does not make it easier to have children.  Getting older means less of a chance for children.

I’m working 2 jobs to try to make this happen.  This means my stress levels are high and that makes it even harder to have a baby.  L is looking for a second job too.  That means we will hardly see each other.  Life might be easier if I didn’t have to pay $2000 a month in student loans but life is what it is.  There is no place to cut corners in our life financially.  We got to a decent spot then everyone started asking for money.  It’s been hard and I haven’t complained until now.  Then again, this is my blog and I’m entitled to whatever I feel like saying.

I’ll add the fundraising options again.  I know some people don’t like giving without getting something.

Origami Owl

Scentsy – If you host a party, the proceeds from it will also be donated to our IVF fund.

IVF Fundraiser

If you want to donate to us directly, please message me and I’ll give you our address.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WOW! Does the craziness ever stop?

  1. carolina647 says:

    I’m sorry you are in this situation. A lot of ppl take the fact that they can get pregnant without investing several thousands dollars for granted.

    • That’s exactly it. I’ve never taken pregnancy for granted. Instead, I’ve always hoped and dreamed it would happen naturally for me when God wanted it to. That is not the case for me. It’s a very difficult road to walk.

  2. Heather says:

    I’m sorry to hear people are being so rude to you.

I'll take your 2 cents!

