Ssssshhhhhhh! Silence, please!

This has been quite the day.

DSC_0521

Let us sculpt in hopeless silence all our dreams of speaking.
FERNANDO PESSOA, The Book of Disquiet

I’ve decided to go dark.  No, not my hair.  I’ve decided that I am going to silence all social media.  I will no longer be checking Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or this blog.  All will be dark until January 1st, 2015.  

That seems a bit extreme, you say?  Of course it is.  Unfortunately, I’m an “all or nothing” kind of girl.  I need this.  I need this break from technology.  The only aspect I’m keeping is my iPad’s FaceTime feature; the reason is I have an adorable niece and I want to maintain my relationship with her.  She might forget what I look and sound like in a year.

I have many reasons for doing this.  Primarily, it is so I can learn how to socialize and have friendships in the real world.  I’ve forgotten how to do that.  Also, I’d like the opportunity for others to get to know me and who I truly am.  No more social media means I will have more privacy in my life; it will also force people to pick up the phone and actually talk to me instead of around or about me.

The phone is a two-way street, yet I find myself to be the one doing all the work.  I’m the one picking up the phone and calling you.  If it’s your birthday, that’s one thing – I should make that effort on your birthday.  It was pretty sad to make a majority of phone calls on my birthday but that is how it is.  It’s not going to be that way anymore.  I make an honest effort to be proactively interested in someone’s life.  I’m left wanting when it comes to others’ interest in mine.  Perhaps someone will make the effort but I promise you, I’m not holding my breath.

I really don’t believe that you can truly know someone via the internet.  You can make assumptions about someone but never know their intent.  I’m one of those people.  Others tend to assume thing about me.  Even when the assumption is wrong, they still believe they know right.

Anyhow, I’m going silent.  Effective December 1st, 2013.  Please try not to miss me too much.

This is a wonderful opportunity for me.

DSC_0360

 

Two roads diverged in a wood and I – I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ssssshhhhhhh! Silence, please!

  1. “Two mice . . .
    fell into a bucket of cream.”

I'll take your 2 cents!

