Hard Year

With the passing of my father in law, I realise that this year’s holidays will be the hardest of them all.  My mother in law will be alone; my husband might be able to come up to be with her but unfortunately, I have to work.  I have been told in no uncertain terms that since I am a manager and I work retail, I have to be in the store on Black Friday and the days surrounding Christmas.  Which I find rather amusing as we never have any sales those days!

The grief comes in spurts.  One minute she’s OK; a few hours later, he’s crying.  As for me, I’ve cried but only when I’m alone.  I need to be the rock for now and I’ll have time to cry later.

I’ve know Oliver since June 2005.  About 8 1/2 years.  During that time, I can’t remember him ever getting upset or angry or saying anything mean.  He always had a smile on his face and was always the first to hug me.  Darlene rarely hugged me until now.

He’s going to be cremated and then we are going to have a memorial later.

I have a few favourite memories of this great man.  I’ll share them when I can but for now, words escape me…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hard Year

  1. May you find peace. Times like these are tough. But somehow we get through them.

I'll take your 2 cents!

