Passing time…

Time is such a precious commodity!  Once it has passed, we can never retrieve it.  I used to believe that money was the most precious commodity one could have; as I grew older and gained a better understanding of life, I learned that money is a revolving cycle and that time was something that was spent.  How time is spent makes more of a difference to me than what I spend money on.

I would rather spend quality time with those I love than to do dishes or clean my house.  If you come over, I’ll make you a cup of coffee or bring out a bottle of my best wine and sit on the couch with you.  I don’t care if my house is a mess and I’m pretty sure, when you talk about that day you spent with me, you’ll be talking about how we sat on the couch and shared a bottle of Shawnee Winery (or Orange Coast Winery or Frangiapani, etc) red wine and talked about life.  You won’t remember the pile of laundry or that I hadn’t swept my floor.

That’s what I want my loved ones to remember about me – that I spent time with them.

I live rather far from my family so I make an effort to give them my undivided attention when I call.  My favourite calls are to my brother’s household, where I can see my sweet little niece on camera.  She is growing so fast and I often feel like I’m missing so much of her young life.  She won’t be one forever and children grow so fast!  We cannot get back those moments when I first held her – all I have is the picture and the memory.

My parents are getting older.  I’m getting older.  Those moments are being swept out from under us with every keystroke.  I want to make the most of my valuable time.  I want to remember the life I lived as time marches on.  Although I look forward to some things and want certain dates/times to arrive faster, I still make the best of what time I have.

At this very moment, 3 weeks from now, I will be on the east coast visiting some friends.  I am so excited!  I make this trip once every couple of years and cannot wait to be reunited with some of the new friends I made while on a European Vacation in 2012.  Unfortunately, I won’t be able to see everyone I want to see but the time I have will be spent wisely.

Please hurry and get here, October 17th!  Until then, travel at the speed of life!

This post was prompted by today’s Daily Post prompt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Passing time…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Bend in Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: The Enthralling Passing of Time | Sogna Grandezza

  3. Pingback: The Apocalypse that Never Was… | The Arkside of Thought

  4. Pingback: The Apocalypse that Never Was… | The Arkside of Thought

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Bend in Time | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: A waiter’s perception of time: | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: SORROW’S REFLECTION | hastywords

  8. Pingback: SORROW’S REFLECTION | hastywords

  9. Pingback: Time After Time | ღ Think. Speak. Tryst. ღ

I'll take your 2 cents!

