Work-Related Expressions

The onslaught of technological advances has been the rise and demise of many.  I have watched how social media has shrunken the world in which we live as well as performed irreparable damage.  One thing I have learned, with my continuous interacting with such sites as Facebook, Twitter, and the like, is that once it is in cyberspace, it is there forever.  I could delete it but someone will have seen it before I could have done so; therefore, it may be permanently etched in his or her brain. 

I will rarely discuss work-related issues beyond my emotional state.  I will not blame others for my shortcomings (and those who know me, know that I have a LOT of faults!!).  My beloved husband learned a very hard lesson when using social media as a watercooler; his statement had come down as quickly as he had posted it but it was too late – a coworker had seen it and passed it on to the company head honcho (dang, I almost wrote “idiot” instead of honcho”.  See how my emotions play into my shortcomings?)

Being aware of the comings and goings of the world wide web has made me more particular about what I say in regards to my employment.  It has also made me aware that I have very few friends that I can express my joy and frustrations to; I am definitely limited in my trust with those I spend my 40-hour work weeks with.  That’s disheartening, in my opinion.  I work hard and I try my best.  I take pride in what I do and I love my job.  I haven’t met many people who say that with the same level of passion that I exude on a daily basis.

That being said, I love my job.  I’m a manager of sorts and I struggle with balance and managing on a daily basis.  It’s just one of my shortcomings.  However, I’ve decided that I’m going to revert my role, mentally, back to being a regular employee until I can fully manage myself.  It will keep me from mental exhaustion and perhaps the nightly tears will stop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I'll take your 2 cents!

