What language would you speak 100 years from now?

America is a melting pot and along with it, the verbal and written word are in a state of constant evolution.  What would I sound like 100 years from now?  How would I communicate my needs and desires to others in my community?  That, my dear friends, is a very good question!  (Um, no it’s not – I’ll most likely be dead in 100 years.)

Blending languages and making up words has become very common these days.  Even my own husband has the gumption to make up words because they “sound cool” to him.  I find myself arguing with him on occasion about a certain word he’s made up (or rather, I’m pretty certain the word never existed in the English dictionary) only to be proven wrong at a later date.  For example, he loves to use the word “gription” and I have yet to see it anywhere in the written word.  His friends back him up on this word and say it does exist.

Dictionary.com and Merriam-Webster both say otherwise: 

gription

– no dictionary results 

 
When it comes to melding languages and creating new words, who gets to decide upon its translations?  Will we become a society of subterfuge and subtlety when communicating?  How will we know what the other person means?  Perhaps, we will speak a new language altogether, something similar to computer code.  Can you imagine asking for milk in binary language?  It might look something like this:  00001111111 11100111.  How crazy is that?
 
I can imagine a mesh of current languages that utilize the standard English alphabet.  Cyrillic and symbols found in other languages will be obsolete, despite the need for preservation.  Remember when Prince changed his name to a symbol?  No one could pronounce it!  Let’s avoid that difficulty when it comes to establishing future communication, ok?  Thanks. 
 
Until the language of the future is fully established, I will continue to speak in plain English, capisce?  Comprende?  Yeah, you get the picture.
 
This post was prompted by today’s Daily Post prompt.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What language would you speak 100 years from now?

  1. Great post. First of all, I have to back up Leroy on the validity of the word “gription”. I heard it as early as the mid-80s, when Matt McElheny would refer to the black grippy surface on a skateboard as “Gription tape”. Sounds to me like a portmanteau of grip and friction.

    Second of all, don’t discount the validity of the symbols found in the Cyrillic alphabet. Until the language actually solidifies in some form or another leaving either Cyrillic or the standard English alphabet (or both) in the dust, I don’t think we should discount either one. After all, Cyrillic contains at least half a dozen sounds that the English alphabet does not. Those sounds may or may not be useful to future generations.

    Still, I like this response. Keep them coming!

    • I knew throwing in a blurb about the Cyrillic language would get me a comment from you. I’m curious as to how some of the sounds in the Cyrillic alphabet would not be able to be translated into the English alphabet. Perhaps you could present a video blog on the Russian language and those particular sounds? I know there are some letter combinations that don’t exist in the Chinese or Japanese language but most do translate to English (like Japan uses “tsu” and we have “tsk”.

      As for Matt M., I remember his use of that word when you guys skated. It’s still not found in the English dictionary.

      • http://en.m.wiktionary.org/wiki/gription

        Seriously, the English dictionary is nearly obsolete. You ought to start Googling things.

        A video wouldn’t do those sounds justice, some are equivalent to sounds we have and some are more like diphthongs represented in a single letter. Trying to represent the shape of the mouth when pronouncing some of those in a video seems like an exercise in self-humiliation and futility.

      • You could probably give lessons on dipthongs! You do realise that the wiktionary is written by the average joe, right? I don’t think my professors would accept a paper if I used that as a reference 😉

      • Your professors are obsolete. The whole point of the prompt is that the language evolves over time. Gription is a word and autocorrect even filled it in for me just now. You can take it or leave it but that’s a fact.

      • And diphthongs aren’t that complicated. It would be part of a post.

I'll take your 2 cents!

